Frostburg Athletics Announces 2019 Hall of Fame Class

Fri Jun 14, 2019
FROSTBURG, Md. – The Frostburg State University Department of Athletics and the Office of Alumni Relations has announced that five former student-athletes will be inducted into the Bobcat Hall of Fame as part of the class of 2019. The annual dinner and celebration has been set for Friday, October 4, 2019 as part of Homecoming Weekend.
The Bobcat Hall of Fame now boasts 213 members and the 2019 induction class is represented by three track & field All-Americans as well as an All-American baseball pitcher and one of the top scorers in women's lacrosse history.
Billye Hollister, the 209th inductee, capped his impressive Bobcat career by being named an American Baseball Coaches Association (ABCA) Second Team All-American as a senior in 2006, while guiding the Bobcats to the NCAA Tournament in each of his final two seasons.
A three-time All-Allegheny Mountain Collegiate Conference (AMCC) selection, Hollister was twice named the AMCC Co-Player of the Year and finished his career with 26 wins on the mound in 35 career starts. Over his final two seasons, Hollister struckout 160 batters in 169 innings pitched and helped the Bobcats to 58 wins.
Julie Jaeger, the 210th inductee, was a four-year letter winner for the women's lacrosse team from 1990-93 and is one of the top scorers in the history of the program. As a junior in '92, she was a BRINE Regional All-American, a USWLA All-American and was voted as the team's most outstanding attack. That same season, she helped lead Frostburg to the NCAA Elite Eight in the program's first appearance in the NCAA Tournament.
Over her four-year career, Jaeger scored 157 goals with 69 assists and she ranks fifth all-time with 226 career points. She also helped the Bobcats to 47 wins, including a season-record 15 in 1992.
Brian Leiter, the 211th inductee, was a four-time All-American and eight-time All-Mason Dixon Conference selection for the FSU track & field teams and he was a two-time All-AMCC selection in cross country. Leiter captured all four of his All-American awards over his final two seasons and he holds the most outdoor All-American honors in mid-distance events in school history.
Leiter currently holds five school records and he capped his impressive career with a third-place showing in the 1,500-meter run at the NCAA Outdoor Championships at Marietta in 2009 and he remains Frostburg's only All-American in the 1,500.
Sumer Rohrs, the 212th inductee, is one of the most decorated athletes in the storied history of the Bobcat track & field program. Rohrs' list of accolades include six National Championships, nine All-American awards, nine Eastern College Athletic Conference (ECAC) Championships and 16 All-ECAC awards.
Rohrs capped her final outdoor season in 2009 with National Titles in both the 100 and 400-meter hurdles and set DIII's fastest time in both events following the NCAA Championships. She was also named both the USTFCCCA Division III National Outdoor Athlete of the Year and the Outdoor Scholar Athlete of the Year.
Raymond Toppins, the 213th inductee, is Frostburg's fourth most decorated athlete across all male sports with seven All-American awards and he finished his impressive career by capturing the Bobcats' only triple jump National Championship in program history.
Toppins captured at least one All-American honor in each of his four years as a Bobcat. He holds the indoor school record in the triple jump at 49ft. 2.75in. and earned the National Title as a senior during the outdoor season as the only competitor in DIII to jump over 15 meters that spring. He helped lead the Bobcats to team National Titles during the 1986 and 1987 outdoor seasons as well as the team National Championship trophy during the indoor campaign in 1985-86.
More information about the ceremony will be available at a later date.